Alps

The Alps are one of the largest continuous natural areas in Europe, yet are conversely a relatively small region subject to many different pressures. They are particularly affected by climate change, and are shaped significantly by farming and infrastructure, for example tourism construction, even at higher elevations.

  • GPS measurements at the Arrête de l'Arpille (Sanetsch, VS)
  • The Alps as a recreational area, Munt-la-Schera, Swiss National Park
  • Val Plavna, Grisons
  • View from Stoos cable car in Muotathal
  • View of the Alpine town of Brig
  • GPS measurements at the Arrête de l'Arpille (Sanetsch, VS)Image: Mario Kummer1/5
  • The Alps as a recreational area, Munt-la-Schera, Swiss National ParkImage: Norman Backhaus2/5
  • Val Plavna, GrisonsImage: Norman Backhaus3/5
  • View from Stoos cable car in MuotathalImage: Anea Schmidlin4/5
  • View of the Alpine town of BrigImage: Ursula Schüpbach5/5

The considerable challenges facing the Alps include increasing traffic flows, the creation of new infrastructure, the migration of the younger generation, the growing contrast between urbanised areas and regions undergoing depopulation, pandemic-related intensification of use in the leisure sector and climate change.

Activities of the FoLAP:

  • Panel discussion on the topic of glacial lakes and climate protection at the Hagneck hydroelectric power station near Biel.
  • ProMontesPrize: The Swiss Foundation for Alpine Research (SSAF), in collaboration with FoLAP, awards prizes for outstanding achievements by young researchers in securing the future of the Alpine cultural landscape.
  • UN International Mountain Day: With International Mountain Day on 11 December, the United Nations draws attention to the special role of mountain regions for sustainable development. In Switzerland, we celebrate this event annually together with other mountain-related organisations. We want to show the richness and diversity of the mountains in an entertaining way. We focus on people who live in the mountains or whose hearts beat for the mountains from the lowlands. We also want to present lesser-known aspects of the rich but also environmentally sensitive mountain world and contribute to its appreciation.

International participations – ISCAR

ISCAR Logo

As part of the International Scientific Committee on Alpine Research (ISCAR), we support the international exchange and transfer of knowledge to politics and society, thus helping to ensure both the protection and the appropriate utilisation of the Alps. We are also one of the official observer organisations of the Alpine Convention, and as such are involved in the work of the Permanent Committee and the Alpine Conference.

Activities of ISCAR:

  • Young Academics Award: Awarding outstanding master theses on relevant alpine topics.
  • AlpWeek: AlpWeek is a leading international event on sustainable development and related alpine issues, jointly organised by the main alpine organisations. The last AlpWeek took place in 2020.

The Forum Landscape, Alps, Parks took over the tasks of the former Interacademic Commission for Alpine Studies (ICAS) in 2019.

Contact

SCNAT
Forum Landscape, Alps, Parks (FoLAP)
House of Academies
PO Box
3001 Bern
Switzerland

+41 31 306 93 44
E-mail

Alpes

Les Alpes sont l’un des espaces naturels d’un seul tenant les plus importants d’Europe. De nombreuses exigences s’y confrontent dans un espace restreint. Elles sont particulièrement touchées par le changement climatique. De plus, jusqu’en haute altitude, elles sont marquées par l’exploitation et les infrastructures, notamment touristiques.

  • Vue du téléphérique de Stoos à Muotathal
  • Vue de la ville alpine de Visp
  • Val Plavna, Grisons
  • Mesures GPS à l'Arrête de l'Arpille (Sanetsch, VS)
  • Les Alpes comme espace de loisirs, Munt-la-Schera, Parc national Suisse
  • Vue du téléphérique de Stoos à MuotathalImage : Anea Schmidlin1/5
  • Vue de la ville alpine de VispImage : Ursula Schüpbach2/5
  • Val Plavna, GrisonsImage : Norman Backhaus3/5
  • Mesures GPS à l'Arrête de l'Arpille (Sanetsch, VS)Image : Mario Kummer4/5
  • Les Alpes comme espace de loisirs, Munt-la-Schera, Parc national SuisseImage : Norman Backhaus5/5

Le trafic croissant, les nouvelles infrastructures, le départ des populations jeunes, les contrastes croissants entre les régions urbanisées et désertées, l'intensification de l'utilisation dans le secteur des loisirs liée aux pandémies ainsi que le changement climatique font partie des plus grands défis du développement des Alpes.

Activités du FoLAP:

  • Débat sur le thème des lacs glaciaires et de la protection du climat à la centrale hydroélectrique de Hagneck, près de Bienne.
  • PrixProMontes : La Fondation Suisse pour Recherches Alpines (FSRA), en collaboration avec le FoLAP, décerne des prix pour récompenser les réalisations exceptionnelles de jeunes chercheurs au sujet de l’avenir du paysage culturel alpin.
  • Journée internationale de la montagne des Nations unies : avec la Journée internationale de la montagne, le 11 décembre, les Nations unies attirent l'attention sur le rôle particulier des régions de montagne pour le développement durable. En Suisse, nous célébrons cet événement chaque année avec d'autres organisations. Nous voulons montrer la richesse et la diversité des montagnes d'une manière divertissante. Nous nous concentrons sur les personnes qui vivent dans les montagnes ou dont le cœur bat pour les montagnes de la plaine. Nous voulons également présenter des aspects moins connus du monde riche mais aussi sensible à l'environnement qu'est la montagne et contribuer à son appréciation.

Engagement international – ISCAR

ISCAR Logo

Dans le cadre du Comité scientifique international pour la recherche alpine (ISCAR), nous soutenons l’échange international et le transfert de résultats scientifiques au profit de la politique et de la société. Nous contribuons ainsi au développement durable de l’espace alpin entre protection et utilisation. Nous sommes en outre l’une des organisations d’observateurs officiels de la Convention alpine et participons à ce titre au travail du comité permanent et de la Conférence alpine.

Activités de l'ISCAR :

  • Young Academics Award – Prix des jeunes diplômés: récompense des thèses de maîtrise exceptionnelles sur des sujets alpins pertinents.
  • AlpWeek : AlpWeek est un événement international de premier plan sur le développement durable et les questions alpines connexes, organisé conjointement par les principales organisations alpines. La dernière AlpWeek a eu lieu en 2020.

Le Forum Paysage, Alpes, Parcs a repris les tâches de l'ancienne Commission interacadémique pour la recherche alpine (ICAS) en 2019.

Contact

SCNAT
Forum Paysage, Alpes, Parcs (FoLAP)
Maison des Académies
Case postale
3001 Berne

+41 31 306 93 44
E-mail