Alps

The Alps are one of the largest continuous natural areas in Europe, yet are conversely a relatively small region subject to many different pressures. They are particularly affected by climate change, and are shaped significantly by farming and infrastructure, for example tourism construction, even at higher elevations.

  • GPS measurements at the Arrête de l'Arpille (Sanetsch, VS)
  • The Alps as a recreational area, Munt-la-Schera, Swiss National Park
  • Val Plavna, Grisons
  • View from Stoos cable car in Muotathal
  • View of the Alpine town of Brig
  • GPS measurements at the Arrête de l'Arpille (Sanetsch, VS)Image: Mario Kummer1/5
  • The Alps as a recreational area, Munt-la-Schera, Swiss National ParkImage: Norman Backhaus2/5
  • Val Plavna, GrisonsImage: Norman Backhaus3/5
  • View from Stoos cable car in MuotathalImage: Anea Schmidlin4/5
  • View of the Alpine town of BrigImage: Ursula Schüpbach5/5

The considerable challenges facing the Alps include increasing traffic flows, the creation of new infrastructure, the migration of the younger generation, the growing contrast between urbanised areas and regions undergoing depopulation, pandemic-related intensification of use in the leisure sector and climate change.

Activities of the FoLAP:

  • Panel discussion on the topic of glacial lakes and climate protection at the Hagneck hydroelectric power station near Biel.
  • ProMontesPrize: The Swiss Foundation for Alpine Research (SSAF), in collaboration with FoLAP, awards prizes for outstanding achievements by young researchers in securing the future of the Alpine cultural landscape.
  • UN International Mountain Day: With International Mountain Day on 11 December, the United Nations draws attention to the special role of mountain regions for sustainable development. In Switzerland, we celebrate this event annually together with other mountain-related organisations. We want to show the richness and diversity of the mountains in an entertaining way. We focus on people who live in the mountains or whose hearts beat for the mountains from the lowlands. We also want to present lesser-known aspects of the rich but also environmentally sensitive mountain world and contribute to its appreciation.

International participations – ISCAR

ISCAR Logo

As part of the International Scientific Committee on Alpine Research (ISCAR), we support the international exchange and transfer of knowledge to politics and society, thus helping to ensure both the protection and the appropriate utilisation of the Alps. We are also one of the official observer organisations of the Alpine Convention, and as such are involved in the work of the Permanent Committee and the Alpine Conference.

Activities of ISCAR:

  • Young Academics Award: Awarding outstanding master theses on relevant alpine topics.
  • AlpWeek: AlpWeek is a leading international event on sustainable development and related alpine issues, jointly organised by the main alpine organisations. The last AlpWeek took place in 2020.

The Forum Landscape, Alps, Parks took over the tasks of the former Interacademic Commission for Alpine Studies (ICAS) in 2019.

Contact

SCNAT
Forum Landscape, Alps, Parks (FoLAP)
House of Academies
PO Box
3001 Bern
Switzerland

+41 31 306 93 44
E-mail

Alpen

Die Alpen bilden einen der grössten zusammenhängenden Naturräume Europas. Hier treffen viele Ansprüche auf engem Raum aufeinander. Sie sind besonders stark vom Klimawandel betroffen. Gleichzeitig sind sie bis in hohe Lagen geprägt von Bewirtschaftung und Infrastrukturen, zum Beispiel des Tourismus.

  • Blick von der Stoos-Seilbahn in Muotathal
  • Blick auf die Alpenstadt Visp
  • Val Plavna, Graubünden
  • GPS-Messungen zur Bestimmung der Blockgletschergeschwindigkeiten an der Arrête de l'Arpille (Sanetsch, VS)
  • Die Alpen als Erholungsraum, Munt-la-Schera, Schweizerischer Nationalpark
  • Blick von der Stoos-Seilbahn in MuotathalBild: Anea Schmidlin1/5
  • Blick auf die Alpenstadt VispBild: Ursula Schüpbach2/5
  • Val Plavna, GraubündenBild: Norman Backhaus3/5
  • GPS-Messungen zur Bestimmung der Blockgletschergeschwindigkeiten an der Arrête de l'Arpille (Sanetsch, VS)Bild: Mario Kummer4/5
  • Die Alpen als Erholungsraum, Munt-la-Schera, Schweizerischer NationalparkBild: Norman Backhaus5/5

Zunehmender Verkehr, neue Infrastrukturbauten, die Abwanderung der jungen Bevölkerung, wachsende Kontraste zwischen verstädterten und sich entleerenden Regionen, pandemiebedingte Nutzungsintensivierung im Freizeitbereich sowie der Klimawandel zählen zu den grossen Herausforderungen für die Entwicklung der Alpen.

Tätigkeiten des FoLAP

  • Podiumsdiskusssion zum Thema Gletscherseen und Klimaschutz beim Wasserkraftwerk Hagneck bei Biel.
  • ProMontesPreis: Die Schweizerische Stiftung für Alpine Forschung (SSAF) prämiert in Zusammenarbeit mit dem FoLAP herausragende Leistungen von Nachwuchsforschenden zur Zukunftssicherung der alpinen Kulturlandschaft.
  • UNO Internationaler Tag der Berge: Mit dem Internationalen Tag der Berge am 11. Dezember machen die Vereinten Nationen auf die besondere Rolle der Berggebiete für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung aufmerksam. In der Schweiz feiern wir zusammen mit anderen Organisationen mit Bergbezug diesen Event jährlich. Auf unterhaltsame Art und Weise möchten wir Reichtum und Vielgestaltigkeit der Berge aufzeigen. Ins Zentrum stellen wir dabei Menschen, die in den Bergen leben oder deren Herz vom Unterland aus für die Berge schlägt. Dabei möchten wir auch weniger bekannte Aspekte der reichhaltigen aber auch umweltsensiblen Bergwelt vorstellen und einen Beitrag zu deren Wertschätzung leisten.

Internationale Beteiligungen – ISCAR

ISCAR Logo

Im Rahmen des internationalen wissenschaftlichen Komitees Alpenforschung (ISCAR) unterstützen wir den internationalen Austausch und den Transfer wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse zuhanden von Politik und Gesellschaft. Damit tragen wir zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung des Alpenraums zwischen Schutz und Nutzung bei. Zudem sind wir eine der offiziellen Beobachterorganisationen der Alpenkonvention und nehmen als solche an der Arbeit des Ständigen Ausschusses und der Alpenkonferenz teil.

Tätigkeiten der ISCAR:

  • Young Academics Award: Auszeichnung herausragender Masterarbeiten zu relevanten Alpenthemen
  • AlpWeek: Die Alpenwoche ist eine führende internationalen Veranstaltung über nachhaltige Entwicklung und damit zusammenhängende alpine Themen, die gemeinsam von den wichtigsten Alpenorganisationen organisiert wird. Die letzte AlpWeek fand 2020 statt.

Das Forum Landschaft, Alpen, Pärke hat 2019 die Aufgaben der vormaligen Interakademischen Kommission Alpenforschung (ICAS) übernommen.

Kontakt

SCNAT
Forum Landschaft, Alpen, Pärke (FoLAP)
Haus der Akademien
Postfach
3001 Bern

+41 31 306 93 44
E-Mail